Technical Commitee

Mecal's technical commitee

MECAL is driven by its Technical & Professional Standards Committees through it’s comprehensive Quality Assurance system.

The Mecal Technical Committee comprises senior & principal level surveyors & naval architects. The Committee issues technical guidance to our worldwide network of surveyors, naval architects & specialists to provide support and to facilitate consistency in interpretation of the Codes of Practice. Our commitment to our ISO Quality Procedures enables us to provide an accurate and efficient service to all clients and is fundamental to our success. The Committee also provides specialists to the various MCA & Industry working groups to develop & maintain the rapidly expanding codes applicable to our sector.

Our Professional Standards Committee governs our policies on surveyor entry levels & annual accreditation as well as applying the latest CPD policy of the Engineering Council. We are working with others in the industry & with the Institutions to promote & enhance the status of marine surveying as a profession. We are actively involved in the establishing of web based training modules for surveyors & others in our industry.

Professional Standards Committee

Technical Committee:

John Fearnley
CEO and Chief Surveyor at Mecal ltd

Roger Bell
Marine Surveyors & Naval Architects

Andi Lloyd
Weathereye Marine Limited

David Lang
Mecal Senior Marine Surveyor & Engineer

Alan Cartwright
Blabey Engineering Limited

Geoff Wilson
Principal Surveyor R. Pearce & Co.

Richard Linford
Blue Peninsular Marine Ltd

Alisdair Salmon
Argyll Maritime Design Services Ltd

Andy Page

chartwell marine Ltd


Corresponding members:

Bob Meddler

Alasdair Salmon